Chicken and Dumplings

I know I said I would be moving past my standard dishes, but I’d also like to write a few of mine down to save for prosperity sake. Who knows maybe I’ll have some wonderful daughter in laws some day who will want the recipe. This is the meal my boys always ask me to make. Comfort food at it’s best.

1st of all buy the largest whole chicken you can find. (My mom always told me that a chicken’s bones all weight the same so if you buy the largest you’re getting your moneys worth buy purchasing the heaviest one.) I guess that’s true and when feeding 3 (four including my husband) boys, I’ll take all the extra food I can get.  I also save chicken pieces; backs etc through out the year in my freezer and throw them into the pot.

Chicken and Dumplings

1 large Chicken

1 large onion (cut in fourths)

3 or 4 Carrots (cut to fit in pan)

Celery stalks with leaves

3 or 4 bay Leaves

Salt and Pepper

If you have some fresh herbs toss those in there too. I usually throw in some sprigs of Thyme and rosemary.

Place all in a large pot and fill the pot with water. Bring a boil, then cover and let it cook on low for a couple of hours. Your house will smell wonderful. About 30 mins before you are ready to eat pour the entire pot through a strainer saving the broth to put back into the pot. The chicken should be falling off the bone, carefully remove the chicken from the bone and add back to the pot. Cutting it in smaller pieces if necessary.  Keep your pot at a gentle simmer.

Then I ruin my culinary credibility by adding a can each of cream of celery and cream of chicken soup.  I like my soup thick and this seems to help it and it kicks up the flavor a notch.  Taste and adjust seasoning. (Depending on the amount of liquid in your pot, you can thicken it more by adding in some cornstarch that has been mixed with cold water)

Now for the dumplings.  This really just depends on what I have on hand.  The cans of Jumbo flaky biscuits work pretty well just cut them into fourths and drop them into the mixture.  I generally just make a batter with Bisquck and milk and drop it in buy spoonfuls. Flour, a little salt and ice water to consistency is another easy dumpling

Which ever you choose, drop the dumplings into the pot which should be brought up to a gentle boil.  Don’t stir!  They will come back up to the top. Cover the pot for about 10 – 15 mins.  

Ladle into bowls and watch it disapear.

5 thoughts on “Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Ok, dumplings… Dumplings – such a weird name for a food! Aussies definitely do NOT understand dumplings! I’ve had them once in my life in England and I was SO surprised that that was what a dumpling was! It’s like deep fried dough, right? Please explain the joy in that?! I actually thought a dumpling was like a sweet potato (yams I think you call them??) Oh the ignorance of it all! Sorry!! 🙂

  2. See I knew this blog would assist me in my culinary knowledge. Because of your comment I am now knowledgeable of dumplings around the world. Thanks to you and wikipedia 🙂

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dumpling

    In England they are fried. I grew up eating the US southern style dumplings pronounced Dumplin. This dumpling is a boiled dough. It soaks up the broth and is moist on the outside but is breadlike on the inside.

    It sticks to your ribs!

    Speaking of language barriers, I had to have my best friend’s Austrailian husband translate your Christmas song for me.
    Holden Ute/Esky in the boot/Kelpie/singlet? You all sure talk funny. 😉

Leave a Reply

