Lotus Flowers

One of my fellow Goddesses, Poseidon’s Muse, blessed me with a wonderful and very thoughtful gift.  She created a Lotus of Light for me to add to my sidebar (and as soon as I figure out how, it will be added. ) I wanted to thank her publicly and let her know how her seemingly simple gift is touching me.

I fell in love with some orange bowls Monday at a thrift store but was unwilling to part with the $20. (I’m cheap). These silly bowls have been on my mind ever since. I put in the description on google and found the bowls. 

 I discovered that they are vintage Cathrine Holm and selling for quite a bit on Ebay. And guess what the pattern is called? ” LOTUS”  My wonderful hubby went back to the store after lunch and picked them up for me.

So until today, I have never given any thought to the Lotus flower and now I’ve been touched by it twice. I decided the universe is trying to tell me something and I looked up the meaning.

“The lotus flower is one of the most ancient and deepest symbols of our planet.
The lotus flower grows in muddy water and rises above the surface to bloom with remarkable beauty. At night the flower closes and sinks underwater, at dawn it rises and opens again. Untouched by the impurity, lotus symbolizes the purity of heart and mind. The lotus flower represents long life, health, honor and good luck.”

So the lotus starts with it’s roots in the mud, but manages to climb out of the mire and blossom into a breathtakingly beautiful flower. I like that!

Thanks Universe and thanks PM!!!

4 thoughts on “Lotus Flowers

  1. LOL! I am giddy with excitement for YOU VENUS!!!!! What an incredible coincidence (or is it a coincidence…REALLY?). Lol! That’s how it all starts girlie…You have so much love for food that the Universe is saying…”GO FOR IT! THIS IS YOUR GIFT, AND YOUR CHANCE TO SHINE!!!!!”. Woohoo! Oh, the lotus is my source of inspiration too. I think each human soul is a bit like a lotus…we all have so many experiences to wade through in order to find ourselves…but once we do…there is no turning back. This is our PASSION! So glad that you’ve been blessed with the symbol of the Lotus too…the food in those dishes will certainly be quite magical!

    Congrats on your new blog and Happy 2008 to you! xoxo

  2. Oh how I LOVE synchronicity like that! A CLEAR sign V, so make sure you listen to your heart on this one. 2008 is going to be a very magical year where we can quickly create what we want. This is a clear symbol for you to explore – might also be a good time to cleanse your chakras? Let me know if you need help with that.
    Love ya!
    Sx

  3. The Chinese so revered the lotus as an object of sensuousness that the object of foot binding was to make the women’s feet look (and smell) like lotus. The special shoes they wore were actually called “lotus shoes.”

  4. PM- Thanks so much for your encouragement. I mostly just excited to be doing something for ME. My kids are never home and my husband has his projects – It’s VENUS Time.

    Simonne – I looked up “cleansing your Chakra’s” online. I actually found some good advise and ordered some meditation tapes from a women that really spoke to me. There’s not much in the way of “New Age” available in Belton, Mo.

    Beck – ….GROSS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

