Tofu Curry

I have a confession.

I’m afraid of tofu.

Not eating it, I LOVE to eat it, but COOKING it. I tried to make it once back in the 90’s. It wasn’t pretty. I won’t go into the details but will be forever known as the “The Tofu incident of ‘94”

Since then I have avoided it like the plague. Oh I knew it was there, in the vegetable aisle, right next to the prepared salads, taunting me, but I refused to acknowledge it. I’d quickly grab my bag of baby spinach, diverting my eyes and make a dash for the deli section.

But this is 2008, my year of culinary expansions. My first venture away from my mid-west cooking rut is to overcome my fear of coagulated soy.

After doing some reading, I’ve discovered that there are many three main types of Tofu; Silken, Soft and Firm. Since I had my heart set on some “crispy tofu” I chose a block of Firm. Added note TOFU IS CHEAP!! You know how I love being thrifty.
I read that you should press the water out. I covered my tofu in a towel placed it in a strainer and put some pretty heavy weight on it for about 10 minutes.

I took a deep breath and started to cut my Tofu into cubes. I heated a non stick pan, added some sesame oil, threw in the tofu and prayed for the best and look! After 15-20 minutes I had fabulous crispy cubes of tofu! It was that easy! All these wasted years of tofu-less dinners. Another lesson learned.

Since I wasn’t confident of my tofu skills  I chose a very simple tofu curry. Easy- yes, but once again, easy can still be very tasty.

INGREDIENTS
About 3 tablespoons sesame oil
1 (14 ounce) package firm tofu, drained, pressed and cubed
1 (10 ounce) can coconut milk
1 -2 tablespoons pre-made curry paste – I used green curry

You can add veggies if you like, and season to taste

DIRECTIONS
Stir-fry Tofu in sesame oil at a med/high heat until brown and crispy. Season with salt
In a separate saucepan bring coconut milk to a boil and stir in curry paste. Reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes. (If the sauce doesn’t thicken to your liking, add some cornstarch dissolved in cold water.)

That’s it. Serve it over rice or noodles.

Looks yummy doesn’t it? …Patting myself on back 😉

6 thoughts on “Tofu Curry

  1. Oh wow…Tofu Green Curry?! Sounds wonderful. I fell in love with tofu during a “hot-pot” dinner at a friend’s house. I really enjoy the texture of tofu…and it picks up flavours so readily. I need to buy and use more of it. Thanks for the recipe, I’ll give it a try very soon.

  2. This is a great recipe…. I also added habanero pepper and a ton of vegetables! A glass of The prisoner (Cab Blend) went really well!

    Whole Foods has this vegan green curry paste that is out of this world!

    Thanks!

  3. Thanks for stopping by TLK. I just checked out your site. I’ve been wanting to incorporate more vegetarian in to my weekly menu. You have some great recipes!

    Thanks for the tips!

  4. Ah, you’ve been busy since I’ve mostly lost my eyesight!

    One thing for me is – no silken tofu, no nori-mu, the only kind we cook with is firm or extra firm and it’s worth it to look and find what kind you like best. (Soy-boy is really good if you have it in your area)

    If you’re ever interested in vegetarian or vegan foods, let me know, I know some GREAT sites.

    Peace love. Enjoy.

  5. Thanks for the tips! I need all the help with vegetarian recipes that I can get. You’ve posted some great ones. I’m sure I will be adding them to my repertoire.

Leave a Reply

