Chasing the dream…

I did it.

My company offered up a voluntary separation package today, to cut workforce numbers and I applied for it. I am leaving the corporate jungle to follow my passions. The VSP will provide me with 6 months of pay and benefits, so I have a small safety net, but I can’t say I’m not scared to death. On the other hand I’ve never felt more exhilarated. This is my chance and I’m taking it.

Β 

As I’ve mentioned before nothing makes me happier than being in the kitchen and serving people. I’ve been in the role of “mom” since I was 8 and it’s a role I quite enjoy. So after a few years of dreaming and a few months of planning I am moving from Project Manager II to “Personal Chef”.

I’m taking classes to get certified and will be registered with the USPCA

If my VSP is approved (and it should be) I will be leaving my job in early March.

Wish me luck on my new adventure!

11 thoughts on “Chasing the dream…

  1. Oh my god!! What a GREAT opportunity!!! πŸ™‚ I’m soooo happy for you, Venus! What a dream come true..LITERALLY! YOUR dream!!

    Lots of hugs your way…

  2. Hi love, So glad to see that you’re going to be moving on with your dreams and actually making it happen. I’m sure you’re going to be a great success since I’ve have had the proof right here in my very own kitchen.

    Much love as always and hey, I’ve missed you. You do my heart a world of good and I’ve tried to get here for the longest time.

    Always love, always peace.

  3. Thanks for the encouragement Ruby. I’m 10% scared and 90% excited about the complete change of careers this late in my life, but I figure life is too short not to go for it!
    I’ve missed you. I hope your eyes are feeling better.

  4. Wow! You did it! I am so proud of you for following your dream – I still use the recipe you submitted to the family cookbook (Vol I) for Chicken Parmasean. I’ve served it for dinner parties, and as a regular dish at the house for years & years. Simple but delicious!

    The question is – what did your mom say about it?

  5. That’s funny. I don’t have a copy of the cookbook. I forgot I submitted anything. πŸ™‚

    Mom does know yet – I’m delaying the inevitable disapproval a little while longer.

  6. Yay for you!!! πŸ™‚ I’m so proud of you for taking this leap! The best of luck to you. I’ll be sure to pimp you to all my rich friends. You know… all 3 of them. πŸ˜‰

    -Bahia

  7. Thanks Bahia! Actually it’s not that expensive. It ends up being between $10-11$ per meal. That’s cheaper than a restaurant. But this food is prepared specifically for the family and their tastes with the highest quality ingredients. Not mention the time they are saving as I plan the menu, do the shopping, prepare the meals and clean up!

    How’s that for Pimping!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

