Meatloaf that even I will devour

 

 

 

I have always HATED meatloaf. No, not Micheal Lee Aday, but that greasy on the outside – dry on the inside, covered in ketchup, staple that was on most of our dinner tables growing up.

I know I am in the minority, as it’s a Midwest comfort food staple. I was determined to find a recipe I could enjoy. How could I possibly cook a meatloaf for my clients if the very thought of it repulsed me? Then, I found a recipe for a meatloaf served at the once thriving 72 Market Street, restaurant in Venice, CA. I made few changes to suit my tastes and EUREKA, I have found what I think is the perfect meatloaf recipe.  It is absolutely delicious and I have never said that about meatloaf. 

1 tablespoon butter
 3/4 cup minced white onion
1/2 cup minced carrot
1/2 cup minced celery
1/4 cup minced red bell pepper
1/4 cup minced green bell pepper
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cumin
3 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 cup half and half
1 pounds lean ground beef
1 pound ground lamb (this is a must)
3 /4 cup prepared bread crumbs
 
1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
2. Sautee the onions, carrots, celery, bell peppers, and garlic until soft. Let the mixture cool to room temp
3. Get a big bowl and mix all ingredients, including veggie mixture with well with your hands
4. Press the mixture into a loaf pan; place that loaf pan inside of a larger pan (11×13”). Fill the outside pan with water about half way.
5.  Place the meat in a baking dish, and place the dish inside a larger pan. Pour boiling water into the larger pan until it reaches halfway up the sides of the baking dish.
6. Place the pan in the oven and bake for 35 to 40 minutes.
7. Remove the loaf pan from the water pan and let cool for 15 mins or so to cool.  TIP – I have a mini loaf pan that makes six little loaves. I made a batch of mini-meatloaves and froze them for quick individual dinners/lunches.  

I made my own red sauce for this dish, but I will try the restaurants recipe for gravy soon. It looks delish!

 

Gravy 
2 tablespoons butter
4 shallots, minced
1 sprig thyme
1 bay leaf
Dash of crushed peppercorns
1/4 cup chopped red bell peppers
1/4 cup chopped yellow bell peppers
1 cup dry white wine
1 cup veal or beef stock
1 cup chicken stock
2 Roma tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and diced
Salt and pepper
1. In a heavy pan, melt 1 tablespoon of the butter, and sauté the shallots, thyme, bay leaf, peppercorns, and red and yellow bell peppers over medium-high heat for 3 minutes. 
2. Add the wine and simmer over high heat until reduced by three-fourths, to make a glaze. 
3. Add the beef stock and chicken stock, and simmer, uncovered, over high heat until reduced by one-fourth. 
4. Add the tomatoes and bring to a slow simmer. Cook, covered, for 20 minutes. 
5. Stir in the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter and season with salt and pepper to taste. 
6. Strain, discarding bay leaf and thyme before serving.

 

4 thoughts on “Meatloaf that even I will devour

  1. Did you see what that dirty hooved creature was jumping on??? A down comforter! How many baby ducks had to give their lives so that silly goat could get his jollies jumping on the bed?
    I’m kidding (pun intended) I’m just trying to get your goat!! Thank you, I’ll be here all night

  2. LOL funny…

    Your recipe sounds yummy, Venus! I’ve never used lamb before and can’t wait to try it. Have you used veal?? That’s what I’ve done in the past (1/2 AND 1/2) and it makes for a really mild, flavorable combo too!

    (PS. isn’t that a GOAT jumping on the bed? ;=)….)

  3. Nope, that’s a baby sheep. And it’s much cuter than any ol’ dirty duck. But the comforter could possibly be polyfill.

Leave a Reply

