Summer Baking

This week is a blissfully slow one for me so I’m using the extra time to try recipes and get caught up on my paperwork. I am booked every day next week. My garden is very lush and green but the vegetables aren’t ripe yet. I should be able to start harvesting in the next few days. In the meantime my mom sent me home with some great looking zucchini. I love zucchini but was really in the mood for something sweet. Solution? Zucchini Bread! If you’ve never had it, I know your turning your nose up at me right now, but this stuff is so sweet( yes there’s a lot of sugar) and moist you’d never know you were eating your veggies. I took a basic recipe and tried to make it a little healthier, It turned out marvelous! I wish you could smell my house right now, the scents of cinnamon and baked goodness are drifting in the air. mmmm….
This bread is a great way to use up all that zucchini your neighbors give you over the summer and it freezes wonderfully for later!
Photobucket

Zucchini Bread
1 and 1/2 cups white flour
1 and 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
3/4 cup egg substitute (or three eggs)
1/2 vegetable oil
1/2 cup applesauce (if don’t have use 1 cup of oil
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
3 teaspoons of cinnamon
3 teaspoons of vanilla
3 cups grated zucchini
I added 1/2 cup of flax seed but you could add walnuts or leave them out completely
1.Sift together dry ingredients in one bowl
2. In another bowl beat eggs, applesauce, oil, sugar and vanilla
3. Mix dry ingredients into the wet ones until mixed well
4 Stir in grated zucchini
5. Pour mixture into greased bread pans and bake at 325. (fill about 3/4ths full)
My regular sized bread bans baked in about 45 mins. my mini loaves took only about 25 mins. Insert toothpick to test for doneness. If your toothpick comes out clean they’re done.

Leave a Reply

