Catching up

I haven’t had a chance to blog much these last couple of weeks. I wish I could say it’s because I’ve been so busy with my new business but unfortunately that’s not the case..yet. School started last week and it’s been a whirlwind of shopping, attending meetings, getting back into the routine. It’s also the week that my husband stays downtown to work the Central Veterinary Convention.

I did get to spend the weekend downtown with him…well not really with him, I barely saw him but I did take advantage of his free room at the Aladdin. Troy and I have stayed downtown in the President and the Marriott but this was by far my favorite. The service was great, the decor was very funky art deco and the amenities were wonderful.

Troy was able to join me for dinner at the hotel’s restaurant the Zebra room. The food was outstanding. He had a lobster pasta dish and raved about it. I had a big juicy steak cooked to perfection, which you think in a beef town wouldn’t be so hard, but take it from a very picky steak lover, perfect steaks are few and far between. This was fabulous. The menu was simple but it was elegant and the chef obviously knows what he’s doing. Sadly though at 7pm on a Friday night,the Zebra room was very quiet. I asked the waiter and he said unfortunately people don’t seem to associate a Holiday Inn restaurant with fine dining. Those people are missing out. (I think they were all probably down the block at the P&L district paying out the nose for mediocre chain)
A pic from my phone:

Saturday was spent lazing around the hotel, ordering room service and hitting a few thrift stores. I ate dinner at the Marriott (yuck) but it was free and so was the wine which I took full advantage of. My girlfriend Kaite was at a charity fundraiser in the same hotel, so I hitched a ride from her and we met up with friends to see the Gaslights at Davey’s. It was such a fun evening. The bar is owned by friends, and staffed by friends and was packed full of friends. It doesn’t get much better than that. One of those friends is Abby who was recently diagnosed with with Inflammatory Breast Cancer and although she’s going to kick the cancers ass to the curb she did have to cut her gorgeous golden locks. Well the thing about about this group of friends at the bar is they aren’t just friends but family and I don’t think I’ve ever been so proud as to walk into the bar and see it full of bald heads as a sign of solidarity. They were all so gorgeous!

I grabbed this pic from Colene. (taken at P.Otts) Doesn’t it just make your heart grow three sizes?

After the show, M.Toast and I went to Chubby’s for breakfast and then back to my hotel. As I stumbled into the foyer the staff greeted me with a cheerful “Good Morning!” and I headed to my room and passed out in my nice cool bed.

Needless to say I wasn’t in top form when I met Kaite and Toast at the bus stop the next morning but we dragged our hungover butts onto the MAX and went down to the city market. I am ashamed to admit I had never eaten at Succotash . Oh boy did I make up for it. We had a 20 minute wait in which our hangover brains where serenaded by the Thunderbirds who were performing a flight demonstration at the downtown airport and despite our throbbing heads, it was fascinating. Then we sat down to eat and eat and eat… I started with the eggs benedict on beer bread with hollandaise sauce, country potatoes and bacon and then moved onto the monstrous blackberry pancakes that were so large and fluffy they hung over the plate.

Sunday night Troy and I got in our PJ’s ordered room service and watched movies…the perfect end to the perfect weekend.

One thought on “Catching up

Leave a Reply

