In my own kitchen

So I’m home today cooking in my own kitchen. The budget is rather tight this week so I’m trying to cook with what I have on hand.  My youngest (pickiest) son and I had it out last night, I had just come home from cooking five meals and the first question I get is “What’s for dinner?” And although that is my slogan for my business, I can’t say I enjoy the question as much when it comes from one of my own. My feet were killing, I had just unloaded my four crates of cooking equipment and pantry items and all I really wanted to do was take a nap. But being the wonderful (guilt-ridden) mother that I am, I grabbed some chicken from the freezer and whipped up some Asiago Chicken Orzo and made some rolls.  His response was “This?  Yuck, I guess I just won’t eat tonight.”   My response – “I guess not.”

So I’m feeling a little bad that I can customize a menu for other families picky kids but left mine going to bed hungry.  So today I’m making some of Dylan’s favorites. BBQ Pulled Beef, Chicken Enchiladas and Chili. They are all in various stages of cooking now. The ground beef I thought I had in the freezer turned out to be ground lamb (don’t tell Dylan) Hmmmm..Chili with lamb, sounds pretty good. I found a recipe for Chocolate Lamb Chili on Allrecipes.com and decided to try it.  As every good cook should, I have already tried a bite…ok, a huge bowlful.

Ingredients:
1lb of ground lamb
1 medium chopped onion
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon cumin
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
2 Cloves of minced garlic
3 1/2 Tablespoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon cocoa powder
1 teaspoon sugar
1 bay leaf
1 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes with chili
2 30 ounce cans of chili style beans
1 small can of tomato paste
1 cup red wine

Directions
1. Brown lamb and onions in olive oil
2. Add all seasonings, cook for a couple of minutes
3. Add tomatoes, chili beans, stir in tomato paste and add wine to desired consistency. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes

One thought on “In my own kitchen

Leave a Reply

