Trying it again

I haven’t been on my blog for months, but had a little extra time today and clicked the Between the Gutter and the Stars link. Voila! I seemed to have lost a bunch of pictures and I’m too lazy to go back and fix the links, but I am compelled to start writing again. Writing is not really my forte, but when I blog it seems to be a good exercise for me. I start paying attention to the smallest details around me, instead of letting the details of my day just pass by in blur of gray.
I only have one client left in my Personal Chef business. I said goodbye to my other clients to take a position as the Operations manager for a small bistro in the city. The work is tiring and the pay is terrible but I am learning a lot, so I’m grateful for the opportunity. I’m still trying to figure out how to balance a 60+ hour work week and my personal life. I am failing miserable at the moment, but I’m sure there is a way. If I was still in my twenties or maybe even my thirties, maybe I would have the energy, but this 42 year old body is pretty worn out. What was I thinking, leaving my nice corporate job with it’s three weeks of paid vacation, 401K and sick days to “pursue my passions”?
I did make the most of my day off though. We went thrifting up North and stopped into Hay’s to try the burgers we’ve heard so much about. The chocolate malt was very good…probably the best I’ve ever had but the counter’s response to my request for one, made me enjoy it a little less. When I ordered a small chocolate malt with my burger the guy said ” I’ll try. I don’t really have the time right now to make one” and walked off. Umm, OK. It did make it’s way to my table but geeze, sorry to have put you out. Burgers – nothing special. Fries – YUCK. Price – way too high. We won’t be back.
Tonight we’re heading to Pho 97 with Toast, Mason and Kelly. I’ve never been there either, but I’m looking forward to it. At least the company will be good!

2 thoughts on “Trying it again

Leave a Reply

